For a second consecutive season, Ikorodu City qualified for the round of 64 (first round) of the Federation Cup, facing Green Beret FC of Kaduna and putting three goals past them to make it through to the last 32.

On the back of the one goal win over FC ONE Rocket in Eket in the Nigeria National League (NNL24), the Oga Boys travel to Kwara to take on the Nigerian Army team from Kaduna in the Round of 64 of the President Federation Cup.

LINE UP: Oluwadamilare Aina (GK), Waliu Ojetoye (C), Harrison Uzondu, Onwe Kelechi, Musa Habeeb, Daniel Idoko, Gidado Toyeeb, Salau Yusuf, Abikoye Uthman, Oyedokun Tosin, Paul Aderibigbe.

Both teams playing on an unusual territory, bumpy pitch in Kwara but Ikorodu City having played there weeks ago against banished Osun United, took control of the game against their lower league opponents, creating multiple chances but without a goal to show.

Ikorodu City took the lead after the half hour mark after a beautiful attacking move started by Kelechi Onwe and involving Salau Yusuf and Sulaimon Babatunde who provided the final pass for Tosin Oyedokun to control and finish exquisitely beyond the goalkeeper.

Ten minutes later, Tosin got his brace making it two for Ikorodu City from the spot. Waliu Ojetoye was fouled in the box by the goalkeeper and Tosin stepped up to send the keeper the wrong way as the game went into the break at 2-0.

Green Beret came out stronger in the second half, chasing the game but leaving gaps at the back, inviting Ikorodu City to hit on the break, a move that paid off for the Oga Boys.

Captain Ojetoye Waliu was found with a clean pass from Kelechi and the captain drove into his box to score his trademark goal in the 71st minute. Just as he did three days ago in Eket, Waliu took the ball into the box and deceived the goalkeeper who was waiting for a cross but only found the ball inside his net via his near post.

The score line turned result and Ikorodu City have qualified for the 2024 President Federation Cup round of 32, awaiting their opponents, date and time of the fixture.


OUT: Abikoye Uthman  IN: Sulaimon Babatunde 23’

OUT: Paul Aderibigbe  IN: Ayomide Cole 80’

OUT: Toyeeb Gidado  IN: Adekunle Fatai 80’

OUT: Kelechi Onwe  IN: Afoke Malik 80’

Unused substitutes: Godwin Victor (GK), Oladoja Soji, Omowanle Emmanuel