Ikorodu City FC defeated Coal City of Enugu 2-1 to make it through to the last 16 of the 2024 President Federation Cup

With a blistering end to the regular 2023/24 Nigeria National League season, Ikorodu City had a date with destiny after crashing out of the 2023 Federation Cup in the Round of 32 to Kwara United.

LINE UP: Oluwadamilare Aina (GK), Waliu Ojetoye (C), Harrison Uzondu, Onwe Kelechi, Musa Habeeb, Elijah Oladoja, Gidado Toyeeb, Salau Yusuf, Sulaimon Babatunde, Oyedokun Tosin, Paul Aderibigbe.

Playing at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City, Ikorodu City took a very early lead courtesy an unusual goal scorer after just three minutes. Midfielder Onwe Kelechi started what was a fine move in the middle only to end up receiving a final ball weighted perfectly from Tosin Oyedokun and Kelechi made no mistake, lifting the ball effortlessly over the goalkeeper for the lead.

It was total dominance from Ikorodu City with wave after wave of attack and the boys were duly rewarded with a second goal on the twenty-second minute mark. This time, Tosin Oyedokun caught the goalkeeper from the centre line with a sublime long range effort to double the lead.

With the break fast approaching, a defensive mix up provided Coal City with a fortunate goal which they took into the break at 2-1.

Coal City came out stronger in the second half, piling tons of pressure on Ikorodu City but goalkeeper Aina Oluwadamilare made himself a menace, keeping out multiple clear chances as the game ran out to full time with Ikorodu City progressing to the round of 16 of the President Federation Cup in the club’s second participation.

Ikorodu City will face arch rivals and neighbors Inter Lagos in the last 16 on Wednesday, 29th May 2024 at the Akure Township stadium before both teams meet a week later at the NNL promotion playoff in Enugu


OUT: Sulaimon Babatunde IN: Abikoye Uthman 46’

OUT: Toyeeb Gidado  IN: Fuad Ekeleojuoti 68’

OUT: Paul Aderibigbe IN: Afoke Malik 68’

Unused substitutes: Godwin Victor (GK), Adekunle Fatai, Omowanle Emmanuel, Ayomide Cole.